Keys to Productivity

If you are like me you want to be productive, but some days you don’t know how, or you don’t feel good, or you don’t know what to do first.

4b679c9201885b070122c134d6e10c96

Enter plans and goals! I know living by the book day in a day out is exhausting, but for me, I have to have tracks to run on. If a plan is in place to get through each day, week, and month, I know that I will be achieving goals left and right and seeing and feeling progress.

I have had some unexpected health changes occur over the past few months and a lot of days I simply don’t feel good. I know that I do my best work in the mornings and I LOVE sitting down to lunch knowing every important task has been marked off my list and anything after is a bonus.

For the past 2 plus weeks, I have been off from my nannying job and my goal is by June to make this my lifestyle. It has been a SMASHING success. I get up at 5:30 every morning (When I am Nannying it is 5) I do my Miracle Morning which consists of about an hour of reading a personal growth book (I am finishing Failing Forward by John Maxwell currently) envisioning my future, reading affirmations out loud, writing some down, writing in my gratitude journal, and meditating or praying. Then I eat breakfast and begin my day. Each day is different as some days I do yoga first thing or other days I walk later in the day or do an exercise video but I focus on exercising daily. I have been spending the mornings working on my businesses. These tasks include writing blog posts, making calls, coffee appointments etc. I have a daily cleaning task I like to accomplish and there is always laundry.

It seems simple really, but it’s fulfilling, income producing and dare I say FUN!

 

Some tips I have are to 1) Decide what time of day you work best. For some, it means working around your job but are you a morning person or a night owl. I know some moms thrive on the quiet time in the evening to get work down when the kids are in bed. Others work better getting up early. Find what works for you. 2) Write a list of daily, weekly, monthly tasks and arrange them on a schedule. I recommend having one day where things are planned loosely. For me that is Sunday. I know what needs to get done before the end of the day Sunday, but I give myself some grace as to when during the day I do it. 3) Implement your schedule one task at a time if you have to. I have created some great goal sheets to help you do this. Comment below to get your copy.

4) Always be open to changing things around if what you have been doing is no longer working. If 4 am is too early try 4:30 or 5 am. If Tuesday is not turning out to be a good day to do laundry than change it!

 

Hope these keys and tools are helping!

-Dominique

2 comments

  1. Vanessa · January 8, 2016

    Great tips! How much time do you allocate for your morning ritual total?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

